Introduction
The RCB 2027 retained, released and trade players list is not official yet. At the factual cutoff, no readable Royal Challengers Bengaluru or Indian Premier League announcement confirms a 2027 retention list, release list or RCB player trade. Any page that presents a complete final list today is turning a projection into a fact.
That is not a reason to leave readers with an empty page. It is a reason to separate the evidence. RCB are the defending champions after beating Gujarat Titans by five wickets in the 31 May 2026 final and becoming only the third franchise to retain the IPL title. The club's official 2026 auction recap records a 25-player auction group. That group is the useful starting point for a 2027 review, but it is not a 2027 contract register.
All expected player lists remain subject to official confirmation. This article therefore uses four labels. Confirmed official means the IPL or RCB has published the decision. Reported reliable journalism means a named, readable established outlet has attributed the information. Sourced rumour means a readable report exists but needs independent confirmation. Editorial inference/assumption means a cricketing scenario built from the available roster and roles. The tables below contain no invented deal, price, destination, purse, deadline or guarantee.
Readers following the wider cycle can use the IPL 2027 retention rules and what is known for process context. For RCB specifically, the clean answer is simple: no completed 2027 player movement has been verified. The rest of this article explains what can reasonably be assessed before the official window.
Key facts at a glance
Swipe the table sideways to see every column →
| Question | Verified position at 8 October 2026 | What it means for RCB readers |
|---|---|---|
| 2027 retentions | No RCB list officially announced | Candidate names below are continuity hypotheses, not confirmed retentions |
| 2027 releases | No RCB release officially verified | The six exits before the 2026 auction must not be relabelled as 2027 releases |
| 2027 trades | No RCB-involved trade verified | Published Curran–Shepherd speculation is separated from editorial scenarios |
| Auction | Goa in December was confirmed; exact date was not | Do not treat a social-media date as an official deadline |
| Salary framework | IPL regulations publish a ₹157 crore total 2027 salary cap | This is not the available auction purse |
| 2026 baseline | RCB's official recap lists 25 auction players | Later withdrawals and replacements require separate treatment |
| Availability note | Tim David is suspended for his first IPL 2027 match, whichever franchise he represents | A sanction changes availability, not contract status |
What the latest reporting actually says
ESPNcricinfo reported on 23 September that BCCI secretary Devajit Saikia had confirmed Goa as the venue for the December auction ahead of IPL 2027. The same report said the exact auction dates were not confirmed and that the IPL had not announced a retention deadline. RCB's own 23 September report carried the same caution: the auction might be held in mid-December, while retention dates might be finalised later. That is a calendar update, not a player-movement update.
The freshest RCB-specific planning signal is a June 2 club article reproducing Director of Cricket Mo Bobat's dressing-room comments after the title. Bobat praised the group around Virat Kohli, Phil Salt, Rajat Patidar, Tim David, Jitesh Sharma, Josh Hazlewood, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Krunal Pandya, Rasikh Salam Dar and Romario Shepherd. He also stressed the need to return better, rather than announcing a retention or release decision. It supports continuity, not a leaked list.
There is now a readable rumour source to distinguish from an official move. Anselm Noronha's 2 October 2026 Sporting News transfer roundup lists Rajasthan Royals' Sam Curran as linked to RCB and describes a possible swap involving Romario Shepherd as speculation. It supplies no named negotiating source, agreed terms or announcement. The story makes this a published trade rumour, not evidence that the franchises have agreed a deal.
RCB 2027 Retained Players
Official answer: RCB have announced no IPL 2027 retained player by the cutoff. The table is an early continuity review of named players in the verified 2026 auction baseline. Every row is an editorial inference/assumption, not reported. A sensible retention candidate may still be reviewed if availability, role or balance changes. Overlapping names describe alternative scenarios, not contradictory final decisions.
Early retention candidates
Swipe the table sideways to see every column →
| Player | Role | Status | Remarks |
|---|---|---|---|
| Virat Kohli | Top-order batter | Editorial inference/assumption; not reported | RCB's 2026 title run and Kohli's 675-run season support continuity; age, workload and future availability remain constraints. |
| Rajat Patidar | Top-order batter and captain | Editorial inference/assumption; not reported | Title-winning captaincy gives him a strong cricket case; a future leadership change could alter the assessment. |
| Devdutt Padikkal | Top-order batter | Editorial inference/assumption; not reported | Indian left-hand batting protects overseas combinations; the countercase is limited middle-order flexibility if the role remains top-order only. |
| Jitesh Sharma | Wicketkeeper-batter | Editorial inference/assumption; not reported | Indian wicketkeeping and finishing fit the baseline; the countercase is overlap with Phil Salt and Jordan Cox. |
| Krunal Pandya | Spin all-rounder | Editorial inference/assumption; not reported | He covers domestic batting and left-arm spin in one place; selection value depends on how much batting RCB need. |
| Bhuvneshwar Kumar | Indian fast bowler | Editorial inference/assumption; not reported | His 28 wickets in the title season support retaining experience; workload and pace management are the constraints. |
| Rasikh Salam Dar | Indian fast bowler | Editorial inference/assumption; not reported | His 19-wicket campaign makes Indian pace continuity attractive; repeatability and role clarity still need review. |
| Josh Hazlewood | Overseas fast bowler | Editorial inference/assumption; not reported | He led the attack in the final; overseas availability and the four-player XI limit are the countercase. |
| Suyash Sharma | Leg-spinner | Editorial inference/assumption; not reported | A domestic wrist-spinner gives RCB a scarce skill; playing-time evidence and match-up use must guide the decision. |
| Phil Salt | Wicketkeeper-opener | Editorial inference/assumption; not reported | Explosive opening and wicketkeeping are high-value skills; he competes for one overseas place with several specialists. |
| Jacob Bethell | Batting all-rounder | Editorial inference/assumption; not reported | Left-hand batting and spin cover offer selection flexibility; an overseas role may be squeezed by Salt, Hazlewood and Tim David. |
| Romario Shepherd | Seam-bowling all-rounder | Editorial inference/assumption; not reported | Finishing plus pace makes him a useful XI piece; his value falls if RCB prefer a specialist Indian death bowler. |
| Tim David | Finishing batter | Editorial inference/assumption; not reported | His power gives the middle order a distinct option; he will miss the first 2027 game because of the confirmed IPL sanction. |
| Venkatesh Iyer | Batting all-rounder | Editorial inference/assumption; not reported | The 2026 auction purchase adds left-hand power and some bowling cover; price or role is not being used as a prediction of retention. |
RCB's official 2026 retention announcement named 17 players: Abhinandan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Devdutt Padikkal, Jacob Bethell, Jitesh Sharma, Josh Hazlewood, Krunal Pandya, Nuwan Thushara, Phil Salt, Rajat Patidar, Rasikh Salam Dar, Romario Shepherd, Suyash Sharma, Swapnil Singh, Tim David, Virat Kohli and Yash Dayal. That announcement was dated 15 November 2025 and was explicitly for the 2026 auction. It cannot be copied into a 2027 list.
The eight additions in the 16 December 2025 auction recap were Venkatesh Iyer, Jacob Duffy, Satvik Deswal, Mangesh Yadav, Jordan Cox, Vicky Ostwal, Kanishk Chouhan and Vihaan Malhotra. RCB's live page spells the spinner's name “Satwik Desal”; ESPNcricinfo and other roster pages use Satvik Deswal. This article uses Satvik Deswal and records the discrepancy rather than silently pretending there is no issue.
RCB 2027 Released Players
Official answer: No RCB IPL 2027 release has been verified. The table below is a conditional review list of real players from the 2026 baseline. Each row is an editorial hypothesis/not reported and includes both the reason it could be considered and the countercase. These are not actual releases.
Swipe the table sideways to see every column →
| Player | Role | Status | Reason-Analysis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yash Dayal | Left-arm fast bowler | Editorial hypothesis/not reported | Review scenario: an Indian pace reshuffle could make his place contestable. Countercase: left-arm angle and prior squad value are difficult to replace; ESPNcricinfo's withdrawal marker is a season record, not a release notice. |
| Nuwan Thushara | Fast bowler | Editorial hypothesis/not reported | Review scenario: his 2026 non-availability after Sri Lanka Cricket denied an NOC creates a future availability question. Countercase: his retained status in the 2026 cycle and unusual sling action retain cricketing value. |
| Jordan Cox | Wicketkeeper-batter | Editorial hypothesis/not reported | Review scenario: Jitesh and Salt may cover the main wicketkeeping roles, leaving an overseas reserve spot inefficient. Countercase: Cox gives RCB a different aggressive batting option and injury cover. |
| Vicky Ostwal | Left-arm spinner | Editorial hypothesis/not reported | Review scenario: other spinners may be preferred for the chosen match-ups. Countercase: a domestic left-arm option can be useful on slow surfaces and is not easily replicated. |
| Swapnil Singh | Spin all-rounder | Editorial hypothesis/not reported | Review scenario: RCB may seek a younger Indian spin-batting profile. Countercase: senior depth and a second left-arm spin option can protect the XI through injuries. |
| Abhinandan Singh | Indian fast bowler | Editorial hypothesis/not reported | Review scenario: a fully fit pace group could reduce his route to the XI. Countercase: an Indian reserve seamer matters in a long season and cannot be judged only by starts. |
| Romario Shepherd | Seam-bowling all-rounder | Editorial hypothesis/not reported | Review scenario: a different seam-bowling balance could prompt a review; the Curran link remains a published rumour, not a release decision. Countercase: power hitting and two-skill cover are precisely what a four-overseas-player team combination needs. |
The six actual historical releases before the 2026 auction were Liam Livingstone, Lungi Ngidi, Mayank Agarwal, Manoj Bhandage, Mohit Rathee and Swastik Chikara. They are useful background because they show that RCB have made changes before an auction, but none is a 2027 release. A genuine update would require a new RCB, IPL or reliable media announcement.
The Thushara and Dayal markers need special care. ESPNcricinfo's 2026 squad record displays both as withdrawn, while the official auction recap still reflects the auction group. RCB later signed Richard Gleeson as Thushara's 2026 replacement after Thushara could not join without an NOC. Gleeson was a replacement, not a trade, and a replacement contract should not be called an automatic 2027 retention.
RCB 2027 Traded Players
Official answer: No RCB-involved IPL 2027 trade has been verified. The table separates the named Curran–Shepherd published rumour from our own role-based trade hypotheses. Proposed directions in the rumour rows describe what Sporting News discussed, not an agreed movement. Other destinations remain unspecified; no fee or negotiation is invented.
Swipe the table sideways to see every column →
| Player | From-To | Status | Details |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sam Curran | RR → RCB, proposed direction only | Published rumour; not confirmed | Sporting News, 2 October, lists an RCB link and possible Shepherd swap. No agreement, fee, named negotiating source or official announcement is provided. |
| Romario Shepherd | RCB → RR, proposed direction only | Published rumour; not confirmed | The same roundup associates him with the Curran speculation. This is not independent corroboration of talks; keeping his finishing and seam cover remains a credible alternative. |
| Jacob Bethell | RCB to unspecified franchise | Editorial hypothesis/not reported | A trade review could arise if RCB settle on Salt, Hazlewood, David and another overseas role. Countercase: left-hand batting plus spin cover is valuable when the XI needs flexibility. |
| Phil Salt | RCB to unspecified franchise | Editorial hypothesis/not reported | A trade review could arise if RCB prefer an Indian wicketkeeper-led XI and want another squad profile. Countercase: powerplay batting and wicketkeeping make him a high-value overseas option. |
| Jacob Duffy | RCB to unspecified franchise | Editorial hypothesis/not reported | A reserve overseas quick could be reviewed if RCB commits to Hazlewood and needs different bench cover. Countercase: pace availability makes a reserve valuable; no buyer or discussion is sourced. |
| Jordan Cox | RCB to unspecified franchise | Editorial hypothesis/not reported | A trade review could arise because he overlaps with Salt and Jitesh. Countercase: retaining a reserve keeper-batter may be safer than entering an auction with one specialist. |
Rumour assessment
The accessible source for the Curran–Shepherd scenario is Sporting News's 2 October roundup. An earlier 3 August Yahoo page is a syndicated Cricket News headline, but its full story remained inaccessible in this check; we do not use its unseen body or supposed sourcing. Noronha's roundup verifies that the scenario has been published, not that it will happen.
Assessment: Curran's left-arm seam and batting offer a different all-round profile from Shepherd's finishing and right-arm pace. That explains the cricketing attraction. It would still exchange one overseas all-rounder for another, so it does not solve the four-overseas limit or automatically strengthen Indian death bowling. No fetched RCB or IPL notice establishes consent, fitness, a fee or approved movement. Retaining Shepherd and buying a domestic specialist remains a reasonable alternative.
Repeated posts cannot supply independent corroboration if they all repeat the same speculative story. Until a franchise statement or properly attributed fresh report changes the evidence, Curran belongs in the rumour column, not the confirmed RCB squad.
RCB 2027 Squad After Retentions, Releases and Trades
This is a season-scoped 2026 auction baseline carried forward for 2027 review, not a final squad. It contains the 17 players named in the official retention announcement and the eight auction additions. Later in-season withdrawal and replacement markers are noted in the analysis rather than used to create an invented 2027 list. A backup contract, injury replacement or squad-page appearance does not automatically equal a 2027 retention.
Swipe the table sideways to see every column →
| Group | Player | Baseline status | 2027 reading |
|---|---|---|---|
| Batters | Virat Kohli | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial continuity candidate; 2027 unannounced |
| Batters | Rajat Patidar | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial continuity candidate; 2027 unannounced |
| Batters | Devdutt Padikkal | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial continuity candidate; 2027 unannounced |
| Batters | Tim David | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial review; first 2027 game suspension confirmed |
| Wicketkeepers | Jitesh Sharma | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial continuity candidate; 2027 unannounced |
| Wicketkeepers | Phil Salt | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial continuity candidate; overseas-slot review |
| Wicketkeepers | Jordan Cox | 2026 auction addition | Editorial review; not a reported release or trade |
| All-rounders | Jacob Bethell | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial continuity candidate; overseas-slot review |
| All-rounders | Krunal Pandya | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial continuity candidate; 2027 unannounced |
| All-rounders | Romario Shepherd | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial continuity candidate and trade-scenario review |
| All-rounders | Venkatesh Iyer | 2026 auction addition | Editorial continuity candidate; 2027 unannounced |
| All-rounders | Mangesh Yadav | 2026 auction addition | Editorial development review; availability and role need confirmation |
| All-rounders | Kanishk Chouhan | 2026 auction addition | Editorial development review; not automatic retention |
| All-rounders | Vihaan Malhotra | 2026 auction addition | Editorial development review; not automatic retention |
| Fast bowlers | Bhuvneshwar Kumar | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial continuity candidate; workload review |
| Fast bowlers | Josh Hazlewood | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial continuity candidate; availability review |
| Fast bowlers | Nuwan Thushara | 2026 auction baseline | Withdrawal marker in 2026 record; 2027 status unannounced |
| Fast bowlers | Yash Dayal | 2026 auction baseline | Withdrawal marker in 2026 record; 2027 status unannounced |
| Fast bowlers | Rasikh Salam Dar | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial continuity candidate; 2027 unannounced |
| Fast bowlers | Abhinandan Singh | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial depth review; 2027 unannounced |
| Fast bowlers | Jacob Duffy | 2026 auction addition | Editorial depth review; overseas-slot review |
| Spinners | Satvik Deswal | 2026 auction addition | Editorial depth candidate; RCB page spelling recorded as Satwik Desal |
| Spinners | Suyash Sharma | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial continuity candidate; 2027 unannounced |
| Spinners | Swapnil Singh | 2026 auction baseline | Editorial depth review; 2027 unannounced |
| Spinners | Vicky Ostwal | 2026 auction addition | Editorial depth review; 2027 unannounced |
Conditional XI and auction comparisons
A continuity XI could open with Kohli and Salt, place Padikkal and Patidar in the top and middle order, use Jitesh as the wicketkeeper-finisher, then select Krunal, David, Bhuvneshwar, Hazlewood, Rasikh and Suyash. This is a conditional XI, not a team sheet. It leaves Bethell, Shepherd, Iyer, Duffy and several Indian options outside the four overseas-player limit or outside the chosen role mix.
A second configuration could drop Salt and play an Indian wicketkeeper-led shape with Jitesh, use Bethell as the overseas all-rounder and pick Shepherd or David according to the pitch. It has a different powerplay ceiling but creates more room for an overseas quick. The comparison shows why retention choices cannot be made as a popularity contest.
The 2026 final gives the continuity case weight. The official match report records Kohli unbeaten on 75 from 42 balls, Hazlewood at 2/37, Bhuvneshwar at 2/29 and Rasikh taking three wickets. ESPNcricinfo records Kohli's 675-run season and Rasikh's 19 wickets. Those facts explain why RCB may avoid a major reset. They do not create a contractual right to a 2027 place.
Comparing the two squad-building routes
Swipe the table sideways to see every column →
| Route | What changes | What RCB gains | Principal constraint |
|---|---|---|---|
| Keep Shepherd and reinforce Indian pace | Continuity with a targeted auction addition | Preserves finishing cover while potentially freeing foreign selection from death-bowling dependence | The right domestic specialist must be available and affordable; neither is established yet |
| Explore the Curran rumour | A proposed overseas all-rounder exchange, not confirmed | A different left-arm seam and batting profile | Does not add an Indian player or remove the overseas ceiling; consent and approved terms remain unverified |
| Keep the core and improve reserves | No assumed marquee trade | More reliable cover for pace availability and wicketkeeping | Less headline appeal, but reserves need a clear route into the XI |
Dated timeline
Swipe the table sideways to see every column →
| Date | Development | Relevance to IPL 2027 |
|---|---|---|
| 28 Sep 2024 | IPL published the 2025–27 player-regulations framework | It lists a ₹157 crore total 2027 salary cap, not a 2027 auction purse |
| 15 Nov 2025 | RCB announced 17 players retained for the 2026 auction | Historical baseline only; not a 2027 retention list |
| 16 Dec 2025 | RCB bought eight players at the 2026 auction | Completes the 25-player auction baseline used here |
| 15 May 2026 | ESPNcricinfo reported Richard Gleeson as Thushara's 2026 replacement | Replacement status, not an RCB trade or automatic 2027 contract |
| 31 May 2026 | RCB beat Gujarat Titans and retained the IPL title | Explains why continuity is a credible editorial scenario |
| 2 Jun 2026 | RCB published Mo Bobat's post-final planning comments | Culture and improvement signal; no player movement announcement |
| 19 Jun 2026 | ESPNcricinfo reported the Pant–Kuldeep DC–LSG trade | A real 2027-cycle trade, but it did not involve RCB |
| 23 Sep 2026 | BCCI confirmation reported: Goa will host the December auction | Venue and month known; exact retention date still unconfirmed |
| 8 Oct 2026 | Latest RCB check completed at 21:31 IST | No official RCB 2027 movement verified |
Key Players RCB Could Build Around in IPL 2027
Leadership
Bobat's own post-final language is useful because it focused on the quality of the group and the contribution of players who did not take the field. That points to squad culture and depth, not just a first-choice XI. For RCB, a retention decision should account for who can cover a role in May as well as who wins a headline in December.
Batting and wicketkeeping
Kohli, Patidar and Padikkal give the baseline an Indian top-order spine. Their presence lets RCB spend an overseas place on a bowler or all-rounder rather than needing an overseas opening batter. Salt raises the powerplay ceiling but competes with Bethell, David, Shepherd, Hazlewood, Duffy and Cox for the same four slots. Jitesh offers an Indian wicketkeeper-finisher; Cox is a reserve option; the overlap is real.
The smart auction question is which batting role is missing if the existing group is fit, not which famous name can be added. RCB's IPL 2027 auction news can track the market, but every player claim needs a readable full report.
Bowling
The defending champions' pace attack gives RCB a clear starting point. Bhuvneshwar brings experience and movement, Hazlewood brings high-end overseas control, and Rasikh's 19 wickets make Indian pace depth a serious asset. Duffy and Thushara offer different profiles. Krunal, Suyash, Swapnil, Bethell and Satvik give spin options, although a role label is not the same as a settled four-over plan.
The biggest planning question is Indian death bowling. If RCB can find a domestic seamer who closes innings without consuming an overseas place, the rest of the XI becomes easier to assemble. That does not mean the franchise is reported to be targeting a particular bowler. It is a squad-design inference from the baseline.
Overseas slots and availability
The four-player overseas limit turns depth into arithmetic. Salt, Bethell, Shepherd, David, Hazlewood, Duffy and Cox cannot all play. Hazlewood's value must be weighed against his availability; David's first-game suspension is confirmed only as a one-match availability fact; and Thushara's 2026 NOC issue warns against assuming that an auction name will always arrive. Availability should be checked again before publishing any “final XI”.
RCB 2027 Auction Strategy
The first step is to keep the rulebook honest. The IPL's 28 September 2024 regulations set a total salary cap of ₹146 crore for 2025, ₹151 crore for 2026 and ₹157 crore for 2027. They explicitly describe a ₹120 crore auction purse for IPL 2025. Therefore ₹157 crore is not RCB's available 2027 auction purse. The six-player retention/RTM structure described for the 2025 mega-auction must not be treated as an automatic 2027 retention entitlement. A fresh operational notice is needed before publishing 2027 process details or deadlines.
Second, RCB should protect role flexibility. The roster already has multiple wicketkeeper-batters and overseas all-rounders. A targeted auction strategy should prioritise an Indian death bowler, a reserve keeper-batter if Cox or Salt is not retained, and domestic batting cover that can field in more than one position. The aim is a less fragile XI, not another overseas name.
Third, the franchise should decide which overseas combination it wants to preserve. A Salt-David-Hazlewood core leaves one place for Bethell, Shepherd, Duffy or Cox. A Jitesh-led Indian wicketkeeper setup could make room for two overseas bowlers and one all-rounder. A Bethell-led XI gains spin and left-hand batting but may lose David's finishing. Those are auction comparisons, not insider information.
Before using any “purse remaining” figure, check the IPL auction and team news section. The official rule says total salary cap; it does not provide a future RCB purse after unknown retentions, releases and trades. For a different franchise model, the CSK 2027 retained, released and traded players analysis is a useful comparison, but CSK's Samson–Jadeja–Curran movement was dated 15 November 2025 for 2026, not an RCB or 2027 precedent.
What could change before the auction
The main variables before IPL 2027 are procedural and availability-related.
- A formal retention list could confirm continuity, releases or a trade window.
- The IPL could publish an exact deadline and clarify operational rules.
- Overseas boards could change player availability, as the Thushara case demonstrates.
- Injury and withdrawal information could revise the 2026 baseline.
- A readable, attributed report could upgrade a scenario into reported information, but only after corroboration.
RCB 2027 Retention and Release: Key Takeaways
- No official RCB IPL 2027 retention, release or trade list had been verified by 8 October 2026, 21:31 IST.
- RCB's 17-player announcement and eight auction buys belong to the 2026 cycle; together they form a review baseline, not a final 2027 squad.
- Kohli, Patidar, Padikkal, Bhuvneshwar, Rasikh and Hazlewood have strong editorial continuity cases, but none is an official 2027 retention here.
- The release and trade tables are conditional reviews of real baseline players, not actual exits or completed deals.
- Sporting News lists a possible Curran–Shepherd swap as speculation; that establishes a published rumour, not completed movement or verified negotiations.
- RCB's main squad-design questions are Indian death bowling, overseas-slot arithmetic, reserve wicketkeeping and player availability.
Conclusion
The useful RCB forecast is selective rather than dramatic: protect the title-winning Indian core, test the overseas combination and improve the most fragile reserve roles. Curran is a sourced rumour worth monitoring, not a player who can already be counted in RCB colours. A quieter auction that adds dependable Indian pace may improve this squad more than a famous swap.
FAQs
Who are RCB's retained players for IPL 2027?
RCB have announced no IPL 2027 retained players by 8 October 2026, 21:31 IST. The names in the retention table are editorial continuity candidates from the verified 2026 baseline. The 17-player list announced on 15 November 2025 was for the 2026 auction and must not be copied into a 2027 list.
Who has RCB released for IPL 2027?
No RCB IPL 2027 release is officially verified. Liam Livingstone, Lungi Ngidi, Mayank Agarwal, Manoj Bhandage, Mohit Rathee and Swastik Chikara were released before the 2026 auction. The seven names in the 2027 release-review table are conditional scenarios, not confirmed exits.
Which players has RCB traded for IPL 2027?
No RCB-involved IPL 2027 trade has been verified. The trade table distinguishes Sporting News's unconfirmed Curran–Shepherd scenario from our own hypothetical role reviews. The confirmed Pant–Kuldeep trade was between Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Super Giants, and Gleeson's 2026 arrival was a replacement for Thushara, not a trade.
What could RCB's IPL 2027 squad look like?
The most defensible working projection is the 25-player 2026 auction baseline grouped into batters, wicketkeepers, all-rounders, fast bowlers and spinners. A conditional XI can be built around Kohli, Patidar, Padikkal, Jitesh or Salt, Krunal, the pace group and one or two overseas specialists. It is not a final squad until the official movement window closes.
When will RCB announce its final IPL 2027 squad?
There was no exact RCB announcement date at the cutoff. ESPNcricinfo and RCB reported that the auction will be held in Goa in December, while noting that exact dates and the retention deadline had not been confirmed. The final squad becomes clear after official retentions, completed trades and the auction.
Sources & References
The sources support dated squad records, historical movements, current news and rules. Player-by-player retention, release and trade scenarios are editorial analysis unless specifically attributed to a verified report. No hypothetical deal is an official 2027 franchise decision.
View 8 key sources
- RCB: Retain 17 players from title-winning squad ahead of IPL 2026 auction — official historical 2026 retention and release list.
- RCB: IPL 2026 Auction – As it happened — official 25-player auction baseline and eight additions.
- RCB: IPL 2027 Auction to be held in Goa — official RCB report on venue, month and date uncertainty.
- Sporting News: IPL 2027 confirmed transfers and trade rumours — 2 October roundup labels the Curran–Shepherd scenario as speculation.
- IPL: Governing Council announces TATA IPL Player Regulations 2025–27 — official salary-cap framework and scope of the published rules.
- IPL: Final RCB vs GT code-of-conduct breach — Tim David's first-match IPL 2027 suspension, an availability fact rather than a contract decision.
- ESPNcricinfo: Quicks and Kohli lead RCB to second straight IPL title — independent final and season-statistics cross-check.
- ESPNcricinfo: RCB sign Richard Gleeson as replacement for Nuwan Thushara — replacement, NOC and withdrawal context.
See our editorial policy and corrections process for factual updates.
